Skip to main content
× Careers Staff Only Personnel Sub Call-In Service Health & Safety
Main Operator 315.433.2600
District Superintendent 315.433.2602
Adult Education 315.453.4455
Business Office 315.433.2614
CNYRIC 315.433.8300
Instructional Support       315.433.2627
Student Services 315.433.2604
Labor Relations 315.433.2629
Personnel 315.433.2631

School Board Recognition Week set for October 23-27

The New York State School Boards Association recognizes October 23-27 as School Board Recognition Week. This is a time to promote awareness and understanding of the important work performed by school board members. OCM BOCES is joining all public school districts across the state as we celebrate School Board Recognition Week in honor of our board of education members' commitment to students.
“It takes strong schools to build a strong community, and these men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level,”

Dr. Jody Manning, OCM BOCES District Superintendent said. “They make the tough decisions every month and spend many hours studying education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect.”

Dr. Manning said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:
  • Creating a shared vision for the future of education
  • Setting the direction of the school district to achieve the highest student performance
  • Providing accountability for student achievement results
  • Developing a budget that aligns district resources to improve achievement
  • Supporting a healthy school district culture in which to work and to learn
  • And much more!
“In many cases, our OCM BOCES Board of Education members do 'double-duty' by serving on boards for their own school district and OCM BOCES. We cannot thank our members enough for their incredible service and dedication," Manning said.
The members serving OCM BOCES are:
Ann Wright, President (represents Jamesville-DeWitt, Fayetteville-Manlius)
Wayne Brownson, Vice President  (represents East Syracuse Minoa)
Robert Crabtree (represents North Syracuse)
Mark W. Gilbert (represents DeRuyter, Cazenovia, Chittenango)
Michael Murphy (represents Liverpool)
*Lisa O'Reilly (represents *Westhill, Lyncourt, Marcellus, Onondaga, Solvay)
David A. Paczkowski (represents *West Genesee)
*William Pedrick (represents *Homer & Cortland)
*Margaret Peri (represents Cincinnatus, Cortland, DeRuyter, Marathon and McGraw)
*Joan Reeves (represents *Baldwinsville)
*Maryam Wasmund (represents *Fabius-Pompey, LaFayette, Tully)
* Also school board member